- What You're Actually Paying For
- The CISSP Exam Fee Breakdown
- Annual Maintenance Fee for Associates
- Upgrading From Associate to Full CISSP
- Retake Costs and Waiting Periods
- Where Your Study Time and Money Should Go by Domain
- Hidden and Indirect Costs
- Cost Comparison Table
- How Long You Can Hold Associate Status
- A Budget-Conscious Study Timeline
- FAQ
- The CISSP exam fee is US$749 in the Americas; regional pricing and taxes vary elsewhere.
- There is no experience prerequisite to sit the exam - you can test before you qualify for full CISSP.
- Associates pay a US$50 Annual Maintenance Fee and log 15 CPE credits every year.
- Upgrading from Associate to full CISSP costs an US$85 upgrade AMF, which starts a new three-year cycle.
What You're Actually Paying For
Associate of ISC2 is not a separate exam with its own price tag. It's a designation you earn by passing an ISC2 certification exam that carries a work-experience requirement - CISSP being the highest-volume path - and then choosing the Associate pathway during your application when you don't yet meet that experience requirement. So when people search for "Associate of ISC2 certification cost," what they actually need is the cost structure of the underlying exam plus the ongoing fees that come with holding Associate status until you can convert to the full credential.
This distinction matters for budgeting. You're not paying for a badge in isolation; you're paying an exam fee once, then a small recurring maintenance fee for however many years it takes to accumulate the required experience, then a one-time upgrade fee when you finally qualify for full certification. If you're still deciding whether this path fits your goals, our Associate of ISC2 requirements guide lays out the eligibility mechanics in more detail before you commit financially.
The CISSP Exam Fee Breakdown
The exam is delivered by Pearson VUE at ISC2 Authorized PPC and PVTC Select testing centers. In the Americas, the standard fee is US$749. Outside the Americas, regional pricing and applicable taxes change depending on where the exam is administered, so candidates testing in other regions should confirm the exact figure through their Pearson VUE registration rather than assuming the Americas price applies globally.
What that fee buys you is a single attempt at a Computerized Adaptive Testing (CAT) exam consisting of 125 to 150 items, delivered in a 3-hour window, mixing standard multiple-choice questions with advanced innovative item types. A passing result requires 700 out of 1000 scaled points. The exam outline currently in effect took effect April 15, 2024, and the exam is available in English, German, Spanish, Japanese, and Simplified Chinese - worth checking before you register if you plan to test in a non-English language, since availability can affect which test centers you can book.
Because the format is adaptive rather than fixed-form, the exam adjusts to your performance in real time, which means the number of questions you actually see (anywhere from 125 to 150) depends on how consistently you're answering correctly. Our difficulty guide breaks down what that adaptive scoring feels like in practice.
What the $749 Doesn't Include
The exam fee covers the test attempt only. It does not include study materials, training courses, retake fees if you don't pass, or the Annual Maintenance Fee you'll owe once you're admitted as an Associate.
- Retake fees are charged again at the full exam price for each subsequent attempt
- Study materials and training courses are separate, optional expenses
- Endorsement processing for full CISSP certification is a separate step from the exam fee
Annual Maintenance Fee for Associates
Once you pass and enroll as an Associate of ISC2, you owe an Annual Maintenance Fee (AMF) of US$50 each year you hold the designation. In exchange, you're expected to earn 15 CPE credits annually to keep building toward the continuing education requirements that carry over once you become fully certified.
This is the recurring cost most candidates underestimate. If it takes you four years to accumulate the necessary work experience, that's US$200 in AMF payments on top of the original US$749 exam fee - a modest but real ongoing line item that's easy to forget about when budgeting only for the exam itself.
Key Takeaway
Treat the US$50 AMF as a yearly renewal cost, not a one-time fee. Multiply it by your realistic timeline to full certification when estimating total spend.
Upgrading From Associate to Full CISSP
When you've accumulated the required five years of cumulative paid full-time experience in two or more of the eight CISSP domains - with up to one year waived by an approved degree or an approved credential from the ISC2 waiver list - and secured endorsement by an ISC2 member, you can convert from Associate to full CISSP status.
That conversion carries an US$85 upgrade AMF. Paying it triggers the start of a fresh three-year certification cycle, meaning your CPE and maintenance clock resets at that point rather than continuing from wherever your Associate-year count left off. Full details on satisfying the experience and endorsement requirements are covered in our requirements breakdown.
Retake Costs and Waiting Periods
If you don't pass on your first attempt, you'll pay the full exam fee again for each subsequent try. Beyond the financial cost, ISC2 enforces mandatory waiting periods between attempts:
- 30 days after your first failed attempt
- 90 days after your second failed attempt
- 180 days after your third failed attempt
Each retake is effectively a second (or third) US$749 charge in the Americas, which makes first-attempt preparation the single highest-leverage way to control your total cost. Our Associate of ISC2 study guide is built around minimizing retake risk, and our pass rate analysis looks at what the available data actually says about first-attempt outcomes.
Where Your Study Time and Money Should Go by Domain
Since the exam fee is fixed regardless of how you prepare, the real "cost efficiency" question is how you allocate limited study time across the eight domains so you don't need a second attempt. The domains are weighted unevenly, and that weighting should directly shape your prep priorities:
| Domain | Weight | Study Priority |
|---|---|---|
| Security and Risk Management | 16% | Highest - governance, legal/regulatory issues, risk management, threat modeling, supply chain risk, security awareness |
| Security Architecture and Engineering | 13% | High |
| Communication and Network Security | 13% | High |
| Identity and Access Management (IAM) | 13% | High |
| Security Operations | 13% | High |
| Security Assessment and Testing | 12% | Moderate |
| Asset Security | 10% | Moderate |
| Software Development Security | 10% | Moderate |
Security and Risk Management (16%)
This is the single heaviest domain on the exam and covers governance frameworks, legal and regulatory issues, enterprise risk management, threat modeling, supply chain risk, and security awareness programs. Because it carries the most weight, under-preparing here is the costliest mistake you can make relative to your US$749 investment.
- Governance, legal, and regulatory issues across jurisdictions
- Risk management frameworks and quantitative/qualitative analysis
- Threat modeling methodologies and supply chain risk considerations
For a full walkthrough of what each of the eight domains actually tests, see our complete domain guide. Getting the domain weighting right before you build a study plan is one of the more overlooked ways to protect your exam fee from being wasted on a preventable retake.
Hidden and Indirect Costs
Beyond the exam fee and AMF, a few indirect costs are worth planning for even though they're optional:
- Training and study materials: Whether you use official ISC2 training, third-party courses, or self-study resources, this is a variable cost entirely within your control. Practice testing through resources like our practice test platform is generally far cheaper than a second exam attempt.
- Time cost of the experience requirement: While you hold Associate status, you're effectively unable to use the full "CISSP" title, which can matter for job applications or promotions that specifically require full certification.
- Waiver documentation: If you're pursuing the one-year experience waiver via an approved degree or approved credential, gathering documentation can take administrative time even though it isn't a direct fee.
Cost Comparison Table: Typical Fee Timeline
Here's how the fees stack up across a realistic multi-year Associate-to-CISSP journey. Actual totals depend entirely on how long you hold Associate status before qualifying for full certification.
| Stage | Fee | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| CISSP Exam (Americas) | US$749 | One-time, per attempt |
| Retake (if needed) | US$749 | Per additional attempt, after waiting period |
| Associate AMF | US$50/year | Charged each year Associate status is held |
| Upgrade to Full CISSP | US$85 | One-time, starts new three-year cycle |
How Long You Can Hold Associate Status
ISC2 allows Associate status to be held for one year longer than the underlying certification's experience requirement. For CISSP and CCSP, that's up to six years. Other certifications have different windows: five years for CSSLP, three for CGRC, two for SSCP, and eight for ISSAP, ISSEP, and ISSMP.
For CISSP candidates specifically, this means you have six years from passing the exam to accumulate the required five years of cumulative paid full-time experience in two or more of the eight domains (with up to one year waivable) and secure endorsement. Across those six years, you'd be paying the US$50 AMF annually - a maximum of roughly US$300 in maintenance fees if you use the full window, on top of your original exam fee.
One detail worth knowing: the Associate badge itself confirms community membership and a passed exam, but it does not disclose which specific ISC2 exam you passed. That's a branding nuance, not a cost factor, but it's useful context if you're wondering how the credential is perceived. Our ROI analysis digs into how employers and peers typically read the Associate designation.
A Budget-Conscious Study Timeline
Since every retake costs a full US$749 fee, the most cost-effective strategy is simply passing on the first attempt. A domain-weighted schedule helps allocate limited prep time toward the highest-value material first:
Security and Risk Management (16%)
- Governance, legal/regulatory frameworks, and risk management fundamentals
- Threat modeling and supply chain risk scenarios
Architecture, Network Security, and IAM (13% each)
- Security architecture principles and secure design
- Network protocols, IAM lifecycle, and access control models
Security Operations and Assessment (13% / 12%)
- Incident response, monitoring, and operational security
- Testing methodologies and audit strategies
Asset Security and Software Development Security (10% each)
- Data classification and asset handling
- Secure SDLC concepts and full-length practice exams
This sequencing front-loads the heaviest-weighted domain and treats the lower-weighted domains as final review, which reduces the odds of paying a second exam fee. For a more detailed week-by-week plan, see our full study guide, and consider working through timed practice questions at Associate of ISC2 Exam Prep to gauge readiness before you schedule the real exam.
Frequently Asked Questions
No separate fee applies for selecting the Associate pathway itself. You pay the underlying exam fee (US$749 in the Americas for CISSP), and once admitted as an Associate, you pay the US$50 Annual Maintenance Fee each year you hold that status.
No. There is no experience prerequisite to sit the exam. You can take and pass the CISSP exam first and enter the Associate of ISC2 pathway while you accumulate the required experience afterward.
Associate status for CISSP can be held for up to six years - one year longer than the five-year experience requirement. Plan your experience accumulation and any applicable degree or credential waiver within that window.
Beyond the original US$749 exam fee, expect US$50 per year in AMF payments while holding Associate status, plus a one-time US$85 upgrade AMF when you convert to full certification, which then starts a new three-year cycle.
No. The Associate of ISC2 badge confirms community membership and a passed exam, but it does not disclose which specific ISC2 certification exam was passed.